About the Awards

ASAE Power of Associations Awards

Applications for the 2024 Power of Associations Awards is now open. The deadline to apply has now been extended to May 7, 2024. View the application portal. The 2024 Summit Awards will be celebrated at the Summit Awards on Tuesday, September 24, 2024 at the National Building Museum. Six associations will be selected to receive the Power of Associations Summit Awards, ASAE’s highest honor for associations that go above and beyond their everyday mission to undertake initiatives that benefit America and the world.

The Details

Why Enter?

The Power of Associations Awards program helps associations:

  • Promote awareness of the innovative, results-oriented programs and initiatives undertaken by your association.
  • Attain third-party validation of your activities that can be shared with your association’s membership, volunteer leaders and other stakeholders.
  • Justify continued investment in programs and activities that are related to the core mission or purpose of your association.
  • Showcase for policymakers, the media and other outside audiences how your association helps advance not only the industry or profession you represent, but also national and world conditions.

Who’s Eligible?

The Power of Associations Awards are open to:

  • Associations of all types
  • Association management companies (AMCs) that submit applications on behalf of their association clients
  • Industry partners that undertake initiatives in coordination with associations

Note: Applications for the same program under multiple categories are not be permitted.

Note: There is no time requirement for how long a program has been in place. It’s a judgement call for each association when the time is right to apply. Regardless of status, all submissions will need to clearly indicate all measurable objectives and specific outcomes that demonstrate the program’s reach and success.

Award Categories

Power of Associations Awards Categories for 2024:

Each of the five categories below has a description of the types of programs that are eligible for an award in that category. Please choose the category that most closely fits the activity you are submitting for consideration. View the judging criteria. If you have questions about which category to enter, please contact us at

This category recognizes associations that have addressed industry/professional advancement in any of the following four areas: advancing industry standards or professional codes of ethics; developing innovative educational/professional development opportunities; and conducting research to enhance the collective body of knowledge for an industry or profession.

This category recognizes associations that have addressed global development in any of the following four areas: improving the world economy; advancing an industry or profession’s global standing; collaborating to effect positive change in global systems and/or policies; and addressing critical societal needs internationally. This category is open to associations based outside the United States and U.S.-based associations that operate globally.

This category recognizes associations that have addressed diversity and inclusion in any of the following four areas: workplace/workforce D+I; operational excellence; governance, volunteer and member recruitment, retention and engagement; and cultural competence programming and resource development.

This category recognizes associations that have addressed advocacy in any of the following four areas: promoting civil discourse and collaboration between government and the private sector; mobilizing members and volunteers in grassroots advocacy with demonstrable results; organizing coalitions to address a shared federal, state or local legislative or regulatory issue; and enhancing an industry or profession’s reputation as a trusted resource for effective policymaking.

This category recognizes associations that have provide community support and engagement in any of the following four areas: marshalling industry or profession-specific expertise and resources in response to an immediate or long-term natural disaster or societal problem; developing solutions to benefit underserved populations; promoting volunteerism and civic engagement; and enhancing public awareness of issues that could impact health and safety.